

## **COMMITTEES OF JURISDICTION** *A CHEAT SHEET*

The first stop for a legislative proposal in Congress is with the committee of jurisdiction. Here, a proposal may receive hearings where a bill is debated before coming to a vote before the committee, and then ultimately the full House and/or Senate. Accordingly, during our legislative fly-ins, we often meet with leadership of these committees to ensure support for our key legislative areas. Below you will find a cheat sheet on the committees of jurisdiction for United Fresh priority areas.

FOOD SAFETY			
FUNDING		POLICY	
SENATE	HOUSE	SENATE	HOUSE
Appropriations Agriculture Subcommittee	Appropriations Agriculture Subcommittee	Committee on Health, Education Labor & Pensions	Energy & Commerce Committee
Chairwoman Tammy Baldwin (WI) Ranking Member John Hoeven (ND)	Chairman Sanford Bishop Jr. (GA-2) Ranking Member Jeff Fortenberry (NE-1)	Chairwoman Patty Murray (WA) Ranking Member Richard Burr (NC)	Chairman Frank Pallone Jr. (NJ-6) Ranking Member Cathy McMorris Rodgers (WA-05)
<b>TRANSPORTATION &amp; INFRASTRUCTURE</b>		IMMIGRATION	
SENATE Committee on Commerce, Science & Transportation Chairwoman Maria Cantwell (WA) Ranking Member Roger Wicker (MS)	HOUSE Committee on Transportation & Infrastructure Chairman Peter DeFazio (OR-4) Ranking Member Sam Graves (MO-6	SENATE Judiciary Committee Chairman Dick Durbin (IL) Ranking Member Chuck Grassley (IA)	HOUSE Judiciary Committee Chairman Jerrold Nadler (NY-10) Ranking Member Jim Jordan (OH-04)
NUTRITION			
SCHOOL MEALS/WIC		<b>SNAP/EMERGENCY FOOD DISTRIBUTION</b>	
SENATE Agriculture Committee Chairwoman Debbie Stabenow (MI) Ranking Member John Boozman (AR)	HOUSE Education & Labor Committee Chairman Bobby Scott (VA-3) Ranking Member Virginia Foxx (NC-5)	SENATE Agriculture Committee Chairwoman Debbie Stabenow (MI) Ranking Member John Boozman (AR)	HOUSE Agriculture Committee Chairman David Scott (GA-13) Ranking Member G.T.Thompson (PA-15)
	FARM BILL		
	SENATE Agriculture Committee Chairwoman Debbie Stabenow (MI) Ranking Member John Boozman (AR)	HOUSE Agriculture Committee Chairman David Scott (GA-13) Ranking Member G.T.Thompson (PA-15)	*Red = Republican *Blue = Democrat
1901 Pennsylvania Ave NW Suite 11100 Washington, DC, 20006, USA #POWEROFFRESH			202.303.3400 www.UnitedFresh.org